Neuroscience Day

7 05 2014

A really great annual research event at UoG (e.g. click here for 2012 and here for 2013), this time sadly I couldn’t make it at all (Jonathan was having an operation) and hardly any welfare people attended the whole thing. However, Walter gave his talk, and from everything I heard (a flurry of people came just to hear him) it went really well. Here is his report on the day:

On April 23 I attended the 8th Annual Neuroscience Day at the beautiful Arboretum Centre of the University of Guelph. The program was quite packed, with 16 short talks and 52 posters, and a keynote address after in which Freda Miller, a professor of molecular genetics at the University of Toronto, talked about neural cell stems. During the short oral presentations, all by graduate students and post-docs, a wide variety of topics centrally or marginally relevant to neuroscience were addressed. By giving one of these talks I was honoured with the possibility of presenting in front of an audience mostly composed of neuroscientists the preliminary results of my PhD project, which deals with developing a behavioural method for assessing awareness of emotions in nonhuman animals. As a whole, it was a great experience, through which I enjoyed several talks and posters, some vegan food, and was given with valuable feedback for my project.


Actions

Information