Walter’s UK trip

20 09 2014

Summary of his great recent UK trip from Walter:

Towards the end of August I had the wonderful opportunity to spend a few days in the UK visiting Dora Duka and Zoltan Dienes at the University of Sussex, and to finally meet in person with my one of my committee members, Melissa Bateson.

IMG_0665It was a great pleasure to discuss my research project with Dora and Zoltan in the cosy city of Brighton. Dora is a Professor of Experimental Psychology who has conducted very insightful studies on alcohol and nicotine discrimination in humans. Zoltan is also a Professor in Experimental Psychology, associated to the Sackler Centre for Consciousness Science of the University of Sussex. It was a very interesting and fruitful meeting, and we decided to collaborate in a study aimed at further assessing the use of emotions as discriminative stimuli in operant discrimination paradigms in humans.

The day after I took a train from London to Newcastle to visit MelissaIMG_0675. Despite I worked during most of the trip, I enjoyed a lot the sporadic views of the English countryside. After a summery walk from Newcastle Train Station, I met with Melissa at the Centre for Behaviour and Evolution of Newcastle University. We talked about our current project, other projects she is involved with, and also showed me her research facilities. In the evening I was very pleased to meet Daniel – Melissa’s partner – and the wonderful four cats they live with. I enjoyed so much the vegan food Melissa cooked, and the conversations we had.

The morning after I left back for London, and later to Asturias to prepare my luggage and spirits to return to Guelph, and get into my final PhD year after such a lovely time in  Europe.


Actions

Information