Kees de Lange

6 08 2016

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 6.57.24 PMMy colleague Kees de Lange died last week, after suffering from cancer for some time. He’d always been a great mentor of very productive grad students, but in the last year I really came to appreciate this to the full: it was so admirable the way he kept on looking after his group (and working hard for the department), even when clearly exhausted and in pain from his illness. He and I didn’t always see eye to eye on animal welfare, but over the years I’d come to really like his Dutch directness, his passion for research, and his ever-sensible views at departmental meetings. Glad I went to his visitation (especially with Rhonda and Julang), and sad I missed his funeral on Friday. I’ve been thinking about him all weekend: an impressive and nice man, who we will miss very much.


Actions

Information